Top Ten Most Anticipated Books For 2013

So this week, the Top Ten Tuesday is looking forward. Which books are the most anticipated books for 2013? I remember doing such a list in January 2012 – and I don’t think that I knew that both Salman Rushdie, J.K. Rowling and many many more great authors would publish books this year. So there’s no guarantees that these ten are my most anticipated books for 2013 – but they are the most anticipated that I know of! As always, the Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and here is my list for this week.

  1. Neil Gaiman: The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I’m falling in love with Neil Gaiman. I have liked the The Sandman and Death graphic novels for years. I liked The Graveyard Book a lot. And I just loved Neverwhere. So I’m so looking forward to not only reading American Gods and the other books I have yet to get around to but also this new one, coming out in June.
  2. Stephen King: Dr. Sleep. This is the sequel to The Shining. Set about 20 years later, the protagonist of this book is the son from The Shining, Danny Torrance. Well, need I say more? It’s Stephen King for crying out loud. Definitely very anticipated!
  3. Donna Tartt. Yeah. This was on my list of most anticipated books of 2012 as well. I haven’t been able to find a title or a publication date so I don’t know if there’s any chance it will be coming out in 2013 but I’m keeping my fingers crossed since her first two books – The Secret History and The Little Friend – were both so good. 
  4. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: Americanah. I absolutely loved Half of a Yellow Sun. It was such an amazing novel and I learned so much about the history of the Nigeria-Biafra war 1967-70 by reading it, a war that I didn’t even know existed before reading this book. I’ve been waiting for a new novel from her and it’s finally here!
  5. Khaled Hosseini: And the Mountains Echoed. I loved The Kite Runner! Again, such a great novel. I haven’t read A Thousand Splendid Suns yet but I have been told that it’s just as good. And now, finally, a new book from Hosseini, 10 years after The Kite Runner and 5 years after A Thousand Splendid Suns. I’m looking forward to this one too!
  6. Joyce Carol Oates: The Accursed. Of course there’s a new book out from Joyce Carol Oates. Nothing surprising there. And of course I’m anticipating it. Nothing surprising there either!
  7. Philip Pullman: The Book of Dust. A companion novel to the His Dark Materials trilogy. Count me in! I’m definitely looking forward to this one. Maybe I can squeeze in a reread of His Dark Materials before this one comes out? And maybe read Lyra’s Oxford too…
  8. Brandon Sanderson & Robert Jordan: A Memory of Light (Wheel of Time #14). Finally. The last book in the Wheel of Time series. Will it come out? Will this series finally be finished? It has been dragging out for so long that I have to see it before I believe it and even though I have only made it through the first 4 novels in the series, this is one of my most anticipated novels, simply because I don’t believe it will actually be published but that the Wheel of Time curse will stop it instead…
  9. Diana Gabaldon: Written in my own heart’s blood (Outlander # 8). I’m slowly getting into this series. I have really liked both Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber so even though I’m so behind on reading this series and therefore can’t pay too much attention to the publication of new books in the series, I’m still anticipating this one.
  10. Adrian Tchaikovsky: War Master’s Gate  (Shadows of the Apt #9). I’ve read the first 4 of this series and I’m so fascinated by the world, Tchaikovsky has created. I own 6 of these and I hope to get some time to read more of this series next year.

I couldn’t find anything about any Terry Pratchett books coming out in 2013 but I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

And I cheated and here’s a list of some other books I’m also interested in but not quite as much as those mentioned above:

  • Patrick Rothfuss: The Doors of Stone (Kingkiller Chronicles #3)
  • Marisha Pessl: Night Film
  • Charlaine Harris: Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse #13)
  • Gail Carriger: Prudence (The Parasol Protectorate Abroad)
  • Jim C. Hines: Codex Born (Magic Ex Libris #2)
  • Paolo Bacigalupi: Water Knife
  • Freda Warrington: Grail of the Summer Stars (Aetherial Tales #3)

Related posts:

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated Books For 2013

    • I think it is safe to assume that Joyce Carol Oates always has a new book coming out! So far, I love Gaiman. However, I did in fact start and not finish American Gods so … I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I will love it!

  1. OMG KHALED HOSSEINI! He is TOTALLY number one on my olist this week! A Thousand Splendid Suns is so incredibly good you should definitely read it soon!

    And I am very excited to hear about a sequel to The Shining. I have recently seen the movie for the first time and now I am listening to the audiobook and I am absolutely LOVING IT! SO I picked a great time to start that!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Jennifer @ A Librarian’s Library–My Top Ten!

    • I’m still so behind on Outlander. But the first two were great so I’m hoping that I’ll eventually make my way all the way through them all… I haven’t read the two first Patrick Rothfuss yet but they look and sound amazing.

  2. I am excited for Neil Gaiman and Stephen King (he has two!). I didn’t know Donna Tartt had a new one, but I did enjoy her first two. I am also semi-excited for the final Sookie book, if for nothing else then for it to end!

    • Yeah, I’m excited about both the Sookie book and the Wheel of Time book for exactly that reason…! And yeah, how could I forget the other King novel?! I will definitely not promise that Tartt’s book will be out this year – it was supposed to come out last year and never did so I’m crossing my fingers that this will be the year!

    • You really do! Neil Gaiman is amazing, I think. I need to get around to reading more of his books – and buying them. I only own graphic novels by him and I want his books in my collection.

    • I sometimes wish that publishers would just take a year off, not publish any new books to give me a bit of time to catch up…! But then I think of all those wonderful books that might not be published and then I just settle for being forever behind…

    • King’s novels are the only scary books I read… Well, a bit of Lovecraft too, mostly because my best friend publish Lovecraft and Lovecraft inspired fiction. Anyway, I’m really happy about the two King novels coming out next year! And thanks for the link. 🙂

  3. The Science of Discworld 4: Judgement Day, by Sir Terry Pratchett, Ian Stewart
    and Jack Cohen, is listed for 2013. He is also partway through another Discworld novel.

Leave a comment