To network or not to network – Armchair BEA day 3

So day 3 of Armchair BEA has arrived. I have to say I’m really enjoying BEA. I’m exploring blogs, participating in twitter parties, chatting with other bloggers, getting inspiration for books I absolutely need to read and more. I’ve already added several blogs to my Google Reader, blogs that I’m really eager to explore. Everyone is friendly and eager to participate, eager to talk about what we all love: Books. This way of networking online is definitely a hit!

So BEA today is all about networking. We’re supposed to talk about how we use our blog to get involved in our community and share positive experiences about interacting with our local literary community.

For me, however, there’s a big but. I write a blog in English but I live in Denmark so English is my second language. This means that most people read books in Danish. A lot of books are translated to Danish – but, of course, even more books are not translated. I read many books that are not available in Danish so I started my blog to talk with other people who read the same books as I do. This means that the literary community here are not interested in the same books as I am so a lot of the events hold no interest for me.

That being said, there have been events that I wanted to participate in but couldn’t for one reason or another. Sometimes, because I didn’t have the opportunity with two small children, other times, sad to say, because I couldn’t be bothered to get my butt moving. There are some nice events happening in my local area from time to time and also, in the country as a whole. I’m still sad I missed seeing John Irving – but it would have meant a more than two hour train ride each way and I simply didn’t have the time (or money) to do that. Still, I want to make an effort to try to get out more and do bookish stuff with real people – and not just the lovely internet people!

I want to talk a bit about online networking too. I don’t really do much to promote the blog. I post on twitter when I post something new. I visit other blogs and comment when I feel I have something to say. I participate in challenges. I have to say one of my favorite online events are the year long read-along of Clarissa by Samuel Richardson. Joann from Lakeside Musing and Terri B. from Tip of the Iceberg have done a great job hosting this and since we’re all struggling with this novel, we’re kind of having a small community thing going on, all working together against our common enemy. So I’m really enjoying this even though the book isn’t always thrilling and exciting…!

Anyway, my favorite thing about book blogging is getting to share and discuss what I read and what others read. Therefore, my main reason for networking is to make people stop by the blog and hopefully inspire them to share a comment so we can get a discussion going. And that’s what I love about Armchair BEA – every time I log on my blog these days, there’s so many new comments and I’m so thrilled about it. I hope this will continue after BEA with the new bloggers I’ve gotten to know in these days.

Related posts:

8 thoughts on “To network or not to network – Armchair BEA day 3

  1. I am still a little jealous that you guys are all reading Clarissa together. I have a feeling I wouldn’t be able to keep up, especially when my classes start this fall…. so I didn’t want to get partway and leave it.

    • Actually Sarah, the heavy part of the Clarissa reading is April, May and June – maybe July. So you could have easily participated and have been almost done for fall… Not to rub it in or anything😉

  2. It’s funny that Clarissa is my favorite ‘event’ of the year, but probably my least favorite book. We’ll see how it all turn out… haven’t picked it up all week.

    • I haven’t picked it up since I was done with May! I hope to pick it up when I’ve finished reading Winter’s Tale. And yeah, favorite event – not so favorite book. But I’m liking it more and more … I think … maybe I’m just trying to create false memories of liking it so that I actually will pick it up again soon…!

  3. Hello Christina,
    I’m relatively new at book blogging, so I’ve not taken part in any readalongs yet, but they sound like so much fun!
    I don’t do any special networking, but I have met and befriended many amazing book bloggers in my journey so far. I don’t know if that will help my blog, but it was rewarding in itself.
    Do visit sometime! and if you like my blog, please do follow!

    • Hey Amritorupa. Readalongs are fun – Clarissa is my first real read along and I really enjoy it. I believe in networking to create discussions and to meet new people, not only to get people to the blog although hopefully, if I get people to stop by, they want to hang and talk books.

Leave a Reply

