As if I hadn’t enough to do … Challenges 2012

So I missed finishing most of the challenges I participating in last year, I have two kids, a dog, a hamster and a fiancee, I have to find a job, exercise and do lots of other thing. Yet still, I signed up for 4 challenges this year. The only thing I have to say in my own defense is that the challenges are supportive of the one I’ve already set myself. So the four challenges I’ve set myself are first and foremost the Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2012 – a challenge that is all about reading those books already on your shelves. I’ve signed up to read 25 books and since I have so many books on my shelves and my own reading challenge already involves reading books I already own, this should work perfectly.

I also signed up for the Chunkster Challenge 2012. I already have a number of huge books on my list for this year so I regard this challenge as another incentive to get them done. I’ve committed to reading 6 chunksters – 2 which are between 450-550 pages in length, 2 that are 551-750 pages in length and then two huge books that are 750 pages or more. And well, I already know what one of these huge books are, Victor Hugo Les Miserables (It’s huge!!! 1362 pages!).

And then I signed up for two challenges involving specific authors – the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge and the Neil Gaiman Challenge. I signed up to read one book by Haruki Murakami and 1-3 by Neil Gaiman – which also should be a piece of cake since I’ve already decided to read at least one book by each of these authors this year.

So you see, although it did seem a bit much to add 4 challenges more to my load this year, they actually make a lot of sense. They are mostly part of my own reading challenge already.

You can follow my progress here. And I promise to try harder at actually accomplishing all my reading goals and challenges this year!

 

Leave a Reply

