Top Ten Books On Your Fall TBR List

I’m so on a roll here. Third week in a row participating in the Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. It’s rather fun to put together these Top Ten Lists. I remember watching David Letterman’s Top Ten Lists and laughing at them and while mine may not be as fun to read as his was to watch, I have fun putting them together.

This week, we talk fall reading. Yes, that’s right. Fall is already here. Summer’s gone, Christmas is fast approaching. So which books do you want to cozy up with indoors while the leaves fall from the trees and the temperature drops?

Well, I do have a reading list – I do already have a list of books that I want to read this year. This includes finishing Clarissa, reading UnderworldAmerican Gods, Les Miserables and more. In fact, this list includes exactly 10 books. However, you can see that list here. I don’t want to repeat that. What I want to do is make a list of the 10 books I most want to read these next couple of months. I’m not sure how many of them I’ll make it through but this is what I really want to read.

  

  

   

  1. Ben Marcus: The Flame Alphabet. The sound of children’s speech becomes lethal. What do you do as a parent if you can’t survive what your children talk to you? This might be the one I want to read the most!
  2. Erin Morgenstern: The Night Circus. Yes, yes, yes! I so badly want to read this. A mysterious circus, some kind of love affair, there’s just something about this book that really speak to me!
  3. Karen Thompson Walker: The Age of Miracles. The world sort of slows down and this of course influence the lives of humans. This book is told by a 12 year old girl and sounds fascinating.
  4. Tom Perotta: The Leftovers. Another dystopian novel. In this a reaping leaves only a smaller part of the human population survive. The rest have to deal with being left behind.
  5. Neil Gaiman: Netherworld. I want to read more Neil Gaiman. I’ve read The Graveyard Book, Death and The Sandman. I plan on reading this and American Gods this year.
  6. Gail Carriger: Timeless. I’ve read the first 4 in this series and they are quite good. I like the characters, the story line and I’m looking forward to finishing this series with this one.
  7. Anthony Horowitz: The House of Silk. On my reading list, I already have The Complete Sherlock Holmes. I want to finish that and then read this one and see if it’s as good as I keep hearing. It’s not Arthur Conan Doyle, no, but it’s approved by his Estate.
  8. Christos Tsiolkas: The Slap. What happens when a father slaps a child who is not his own? Simple premise – but I expect a lot from this Booker shortlisted novel.
  9. John Irving: In One Person. The newest John Irving novel. Of course it’s on my list.
  10. Ken Follett: World Without End. This is the sequel to The Pillars of the Earth and it’s the only book on this list that I don’t own (yet). I really liked the first one and I hope the next one will be just as good (well, actually a little better since the end of Pillars bugged me a bit).

…. and then I haven’t even mentioned A.J. Jacobs’ books which I really want to read (at least the one where he follows the Bible for a year and the one where he reads the encyclopedia) or Cloud Atlas which I would prefer to read before the movie comes out. Same goes for The Great Mr. Gatsby and Les Misérables. And Midnight’s Children. Oh, who am I kidding – I can just go on and on and on naming books I want to read this fall!

Related posts:

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On Your Fall TBR List

  1. I hope you like “The Night Circus”! It’s truly magical. And I’ve heard good things about “The Leftovers” and “The Age of Miracles” but haven’t read either. If you read them, be sure to post your reviews! Happy reading!

  2. Neverwhere is on my list as well. Just longing to read it, but I have promised myself to finish my current crop of books that I am reading before I start on that.

    World without End was an enjoyable book for me, but towards the end it started to feel like “book without end”, but good fun, still.

    • Hm. It was the end too that ‘ruined’ (just a bit, not completely) Pillars of the Earth for me. Maybe he’s bad at ending books and just keeps writing ’till he reaches his deadline…??

    • Oh but he has! I’m behind on my Irving reading – I haven’t in fact read any of his three latest so I need to get going. Can’t quick decide if I want to read them in publication order or just read the newest one since it sounds so good.

Leave a Reply

